//
you're reading...
in theaters

“Eclipse:” Not good but fun

Twilight: Eclipse (PG-13)
Starring: Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattinson, Taylor Lautner

Before I start I have to say that I am NOT a Twi-hard. I haven’t read the books and while I do have a slight obsession with the bloodsuckers I prefer vampires that don’t sparkle.

That being said, I went out Tuesday night (Wednesday morning technically) and saw Twilight at 3 in the morning and there is something ironic and surprisingly life-affirming about watching a vampire movie and then watching the sun rise.

At this point in the review I would typically put in a brief summary of the plot but I honestly don’t care. There’s this girl and blah blah blah…who does she love blah blah blah…people are trying to kill her blah blah blah. The story isn’t why I go to a movie like this. The “Twilight” films I enjoy because they are so SO bad. They are overdramtic and terribly written and just not good. And that’s why I love them.

The Cullen's-Emmett, Rosalie, Carlisle, Esme, Alice, and Jasper

 

Eclipse” did not disappoint me. In fact, it even surprised me a little. There are four reasons I enjoyed the film more than I expected: Emmett, Rosalie, Alice, and Jasper Cullen. When are the Cullen’s going to get their own movie? I don’t care about Bella, or her vampire werewolf love triangle. She’s the same whiney, helpless, annoying girl she was in the first film. And Jacob and Edward aren’t much better. (In Robert Pattinson’s defense, he seems to know that the movie is bad and that the dialog is utterly ridiculous.)

In “Eclipse” a couple members of the Cullen clan, Jasper and Rosalie, are given some backstories and we get to see some flashbacks which were fun. I kept wanting to see more of them and less of Bella/Edward/Jacob. I repeat… when are the Cullen’s going to get their own movie?

Besides the writing and story and acting and unneccessary half-naked boys, another problem I have with these films is the effects. It is 2010, can we not make a better looking werewolf? I still think the dinosaurs from “Jurassic Park” are real and that film came out almost 20 years ago!

“Twilight” isn’t a good movie. But I don’t really want it to be. How do you know what the good ones are unless you have the bad ones to compare them to? It’s one of those movies that you hate to love and love to hate. And sometimes, those are the best kind.

Discussion

4 thoughts on ““Eclipse:” Not good but fun

  1. YOu make a good point: It is hard to really care that much about Bella.

    It was better than we expected after the last one.

    The third installment goes a little ways in sweetening the bad taste left in our mouths by New Moon. Can you have fun with it and not take it all too seriously?

    If so, here is our take with lots of pics and a little wit if you are interested:

    http://fortresstakes.wordpress.com/2010/07/17/the-twilight-saga-eclipse-2010/

    Posted by Fortress Guy | July 17, 2010, 11:17 am
  2. Good blog with some useful information. I will be back.

    Posted by online photo storage | September 2, 2010, 3:32 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Twilight Saga Comes to Entertaining End « i'm a movie nerd - November 18, 2012

  2. Pingback: I Swear I’m Not a Twi-hard! Adventures in Forks « i'm a movie nerd - November 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

tumblr instagram pinterest pinterest

archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 232 other followers

