//
you're reading...
random reviews and other thoughts

Is it fall yet? Summer season dissappoints

So yesterday I went and saw “Toy Story 3,” again (and cried at the ending, again) and realized that it was the first movie this summer that I’d returned to for a repeat viewing. Always, ALWAYS, there is at least one movie every summer that I can’t wait to get back in line for as soon as it’s over. Last summer it was “The Hangover” (5 times) and the summer before that it was “Mamma Mia.” (8 times, and yes, I am a little bit embarrassed by that)

Anyway, has this summer “blockbuster” season seemed a bit lackluster to anyone else? Don’t get me wrong, there have been some decent movies this summer, but nothing I can’t wait to see again. (“Scott Pilgrim vs. the World” opens tomorrow so there is still hope.)

And so I flip forward to the fall and the promise of better movies that await. Here is a list of 15 movies that I am looking forward to:

September 10: The Romantics

I don’t know why but I really enjoy reunion movies. (Think “The Big Chill” or “Eulogy.” Except those center around funerals and “Romantics” is about a wedding, but you get the idea.) I group of high school friends reunite when two of them decide to tie the knot. Plus it stars Elijah Wood and Seth Cohen, I mean Adam Brody.

September 17: Easy A

When I first heard about this movie I thought, “Oh great, another cheesy high school comedy that is really just a waste of film.” But then I read the cast list and remembered the Emma Stone is actually funny. But it’s the trailer that sealed the deal for me. Now I’m kinda really excited about it.

September 24: Buried

Ryan Reynolds is buried alive in this Hitchcockian thriller. You had me at Ryan Reynolds.

September 24: It’s Kind of a Funny Story

A depressed teen checks himself into an adult psychiatric ward with Zach Galifianakis.

October 1: Social Network

Ever wondered how Facebook got started? Me either, but the film still looks promising. Plus the 12-year-old girl in me still blindly adores Justin Timberlake.

October 8: Nowhere Boy

Biopic about John Lennon’s childhood … I’m in.

October 15: Red

Bruce Willis, Morgan Freeman, John Malkovich, and Helen Mirren as retired black-ops agents  with itchy trigger fingers. Sounds like shoot-em-up fun to me. 

November 5: Due Date

Robert Downey Jr and Zach Galifianakis on a road trip. Nuff said.

November 5: Megamind

I’ve been kinda disappointed by animated comedies this past year but I can hope this one will be better. Right?

November 5: Wild Target

British comedy about a con women who ends up being protected by the hit man sent to kill her. Plus it has Ron Weasley in it.

November 12: Morning Glory

Honestly, the movie looks predictable and mediocre. But it has Rachel McAdams and I love her, so it’s ok I guess.

November 19: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1

There’s not anything really to say about this one. It’s Harry frickin’ Potter.

November 24: Love and Other Drugs

Rom-Com with Jake Gyllenhaal as a womanizing pharmasuetical rep. Anne Hathaway as a free spirit who is immune to his charms. Oliver Platt and Hank Azaria are in it so I’m optimistic.

December 17: How do you Know

I don’t have much info but the cast list: Paul Rudd, Reece Witherspoon, Owen Wilson, and Jack Nicholson. Just saw the trailer and not quite as excited as I was when I heard about it. Could still be decent.

December 25: True Grit

I honestly just heard about this one. The Cohen Brothers are remaking the John Wayne classic with Matt Damon and Jeff Bridges. Any takers?

So that’s a look at this fall and if that falls flat too there’s always next summer which promises “The Green Latern,” “Thor,” and “Hangover 2.”

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

tumblr instagram pinterest pinterest

archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 232 other followers

