//
you're reading...
in theaters

Harry Potter: Part 1 Leaves Audience Hungry for More

Jacket art of Scholastic (US) edition.

Image via Wikipedia

Like most of America I lined up along the side of my local cinema in the early hours Friday morning to see Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1. And the wait, outside, in the rain, at 3 in the morning, was totally worth it.

I’ve been wrapped up in the world of Harry Potter since the first book was published in 1998. Every time a new one was released I was MIA for the next few days, locked in my room, absorbing the new story plots as fast as I could turn the pages.

And same thing with the films, once they started in 2001. Always there opening day, always multiple viewings, always a good time. Deathly Hallows was no different.

If you don’t know anything about the boy wizard, and don’t know the difference between a mudblood and a muggle, you obvious don’t care and aren’t going to start now so I won’t bother explaining the story to you. If you haven’t seen the first 6 films, or at least HP and the Half Blood Prince, you’ll be completely lost. For everyone else, that hasn’t been living under a rock, the 7th film picks up where the 6th leaves off and stays faithful to the book. But then, I’ve always been impressed by how true the films have been to the books.

Each film seems to get a bit darker, especially since Goblet of Fire and the return of He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named. (That’s Voldemort really, I just like typing He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named.) Deathly Hallows 1 is darker still and starts on an incredibly melancholy tone with Harry sending off his family and Hermione erasing the memory of her from her parents lives. Luckily we have the Weasleys to break the tension.

I’d like to state right now my love of all the Weasley children (except Percy, the miserable, sniveling, goody-two-shoes). Fred and George are back to steal every scene with bad and corny jokes. Even lightening the mood when George gets his ear blown off. Plus, we finally get to meet Bill, who is fantastic. And Ron, who I’ve always had a crush on, is as amazing as ever.

The majority of the film is focused on Harry, Hermione, and Ron as they travel from place to place searching for horcruxes and staying one step ahead of the death-eaters. We also start to learn a bit more about Dumbeldore and his life before Hogwarts which I hope gets explained more in Part 2. We find out more about the main characters in this part and there’s a good mixture of action, drama, and comedy to lighten the mood.

I have two qualms with the movie. One, way WAY to many snakes. Even typing the word sends shivers up my spine. Even though I expected them, it doesn’t make it any easy to watch hide my eyes. And two, not enough Snape. I know he’s kinda a minor character in the first half anyway, but I really missed him.

HP is no longer a kids movie. As the fan base has grown-up so have the films. The tones and moods have gotten deeper and darker and richer. There are moments that will make you laugh (Harry: Can you get us out of here Dobby? Dobby: Yes, I’m an elf.) and deaths that will make you cry (RIP Dobby). The film ends close to halfway through the book, after they escape from Malfoy Manner, on a perfect cliffhanger. And leaves me aching for July 2011 and the final chapter.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter: Part 1 Leaves Audience Hungry for More

  1. I couldnt agree more. btw, we posted our review at almost exactly the same time. =]

    Posted by Jordan | November 20, 2010, 3:39 pm

Leave a Reply

tumblr instagram pinterest pinterest

archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

