//
you're reading...
have you seen that one about...

have you seen the one about … FOOTBALL

American Football ball

Image via Wikipedia

So, today is the Superbowl or something I guess. I don’t know, football is maybe my least favorite sport to watch, but I love football movies. And there have been some really good ones. Here are my faves:

1. Blindside

Sandra Bullock, Tim McGraw, fish-out-of-water story that was funny and heartwarming. It had it all. Plus, that little kid was just so darn cute.

2. The Replacements

I didn’t want to like this movie but it was really enjoyable. Keanu Reeves as a retired quaterback come back to lead a group of bottom-of-the-barrel players who fill in when the pros go on strike. And yes, that is Jon Faveru and Roy from “The Office.”

3. Remember the Titans

Disney knows how to grab audiences. This movie about a racially segregated town coming together over on and off the field tugs at your heartstrings. As a bonus, there’s Ryan Goseling. SQUEE!

4. School Ties

Ok, so the football isn’t really the focus of the film but it still totally counts. Brandon Fraiser, Ben Affleck, Matt Damon, Chris O’Donnell, all in a movie that doesn’t suck.

5. Rudy

No list of football movies is complete without this one. It’s a classic, and with good reason.

 

Discussion

2 thoughts on “have you seen the one about … FOOTBALL

  1. When I was in high school, I was the waterboy for our school’s football team. I often found myself overcome with lust during practice as I watched those big, muscular jocks tackle each other with such masculine passion. How I loved getting hit in the face with all those sweaty towels when practice ended! It was the inspiration for one of my earlier films, “How I Love Getting Hit in the Face with Sweaty Towels”. It didn’t do very well in theaters. Clearly audiences have lost their taste.

    Posted by Richard William Hardin Jr. | February 6, 2011, 11:34 pm

Leave a Reply

tumblr instagram pinterest pinterest

archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

top 10

