//
you're reading...
random reviews and other thoughts

83rd ACADEMY AWARDS!!!!!

I love Oscar Day!

I’ve been watching the Academy Awards pre-show since 11 this morning and we’ve reached the final countdown. It’s less than a half hour away. I’ll be sharing my reactions all night…

It’s Starting!!!!!

I wish Morgan Freeman would narrate my dreams. “You just got inceptioned.” Opening was okay but it really made me miss Billy Crystal.

What’s it say about your monologue when your grandma has the best joke? “I just saw Marky Mark!”

20 minutes in, 2 awards down, 22 to go

Why do they do this award so early? I have never understood that.

I’m kinda loving Kirk Douglas right now!

No surprise here. I really wish Hailee would have pulled an upset. I really love upsets. Luckily Melissa Leo is funny and she swears. Awesome! Good job whoever is on the delay button. “It’s the young and hip Oscars.”

I love Justin and Mila, I can’t wait for “Friends with Benefits” this summer.

Way to go Toy Story! No surprise, again. I think it would have still been nominated for Best Picture even if there were only 5 nominees.

40 minutes in, 5 awards down, 19 to go

Music means stop Aaron. But to be fair, he is known for long monologues.

Both of these are well deserved and indicative of the Best Picture race.

55 minutes in, 7 awards down, 17 to go

I liked Anne Hathaway before, but now I’m totally in love with her. And a Charlie Sheen joke. Thank you. I think James Franco‘s voice dropped two octaves when he put on that dress and wig.

I love, love, LOVE Russel Brand!!!!!

Reece Witherspoon looks really cute tonight.

I really don’t like this guy. He’s a good actor, I guess, and blah, blah, blah, I just don’t like him. He’s WAY too intense.

70 minutes in, 9 awards down, 15 to go

I think they’re a bit behind thanks to Kirk Douglas’ stalling but it was sooooo worth it.

“The wolver to my rine.”

  • Original Score: The Social Network
  • Sound Mixing: Inception
  • Sound Editing: Inception

85 minutes in, 12 awards down, 12 to go – Halfway There

  • Makeup: The Wolfman
  • Costume Design: Alice in Wonderland

Randy Newman is great but this song is not my favorite, it’s not the most memorable of his Disney/ Pixar songs.

Tangled was a really cute movie. I’m glad it was nominated. I never realized how cute Zachary Levi was.

Why would you have a commercial break in the middle of presenting the nominees for Original Song? This seems weird.

100 minutes in, 14 awards down, 10 to go

I think we’re back on schedule. Maybe?

Whoever Luke Matheny is, he’s really adorable.

Gotta Love Autotune! That was great! I think the Social Network one was my favorite.

Cohens look bored by Oprah. I am too.

I totally thought Banksy and Exit Throught the Gift Shop was going to take this.

120 minutes in, 17 awards down, 7 to go

YAY BILLY CRYSTAL!!!

Robert Downey Jr. is my favorite. My absolute fucking favorite. And Jude Law is pretty good too.

“Your closest association with a superhero would have been in 2001 when you were caught in a hotel room with that women dressed as Batgirl.”

  • Visual Effects: Inception
  • Film Editing: The Social Network

130 minutes in, 19 awards down, 5 to go

  • Original Song: “We Belong Together,” Toy Story 3

140 minutes in, 20 awards down, 4 to go

And they’re the BIG ones!

[insert In Memorium tribute here]

150 minutes in, still 20 awards down, still 4 to go

Little bit of an upset. I think David Fincher was supposed to walk away with this. I’m a little surprised. Not sure what this means for the Best Picture race. It’s neck and neck.

160 minutes in, 21 awards down, 3 to go

Is anyone surprised? I didn’t think so. Well deserved. Black Swan was amazing. You know she’s smart cause she can remember all those names.

Again, is anyone surprised? I still love him.

  • Best Picture: The King’s Speech

This was either going to go one of two ways. I thought The Social Network was the better film but The King’s Speech was much more of an Academy Award film.

Runtime: 3 hours and 16 minutes … not bad.

Final Oscar Count

  • Alice in Wonderland: 2/3
  • Black Swan: 1/5
  • The Fighter: 2/7
  • God of Love: 1/1
  • In a Better World: 1/1
  • Inside Job: 1/1
  • Inception: 4/8
  • The King’s Speech: 4/12
  • The Lost Thing: 1/1
  • The Social Network: 3/8
  • Strangers No More: 1/1
  • Toy Story 3: 2/5
  • The Wolfman: 1/1

Reactions: No major upsets which is disappointing. The only one really is that David Fincher didn’t win. It had its moments but was kinda boring.

I’m glad there wasn’t one sweeping movie. Inception and King’s Speech tied for the most wins with 4 a piece. It was a good year in film and the spread reflects that. I’m pretty happy with the outcome.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

tumblr instagram pinterest pinterest

archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

top 10

