//
you're reading...
random reviews and other thoughts

Films to Look Forward to in 2012

So I’ve been looking ahead this year and there’s a good number of films coming out that I’m kind of excited for. Here’s a look at my top 25. Learn more about each of the films here: IMDb: Films to look forward to in 2012

Beauty and the Beast 3D


Directors:Gary Trousdale, Kirk Wise
Starring:(voices of) Paige O’Hara, Robby Benson, Jerry Orbach
Expected Release:Jan. 13
I’m a Disney kid. Always have been, always will be. I’m excited to see this in the theaters, again, and sing-a-long with all those songs I still know by heart.

Haywire


Director:Steven Soderbergh
Starring:Gina Carano, Ewan McGregor, Michael Fassbender, Channing Tatum
Expected Release:Jan. 20
I love a good action flick and this one shows promise. It’s a common storyline (super spy wants revenge after being framed by her agency) but it has a strong supporting cast including: Michael Douglas, Antonio Banderas, and Bill Paxton.

One for the Money


Director:Julie Anne Robinson
Starring:Katherine Heigl, Jason O’Mara, Daniel Sunjata, John Leguizamo
Expected Release:Jan. 27
I’m not a big Katherine Heigl fan, AT ALL, but I enjoy the Janet Evonavich series and the trailer made me giggle enough to almost forget who it was starring.

Safe House


Director:Daniel Espinosa
Starring:Denzel Washington, Ryan Reynolds, Robert Patrick, Vera Farmiga
Expected Release:Feb. 10
I was sold at Ryan Reynolds. But the trailer promises a action-packed thriller.

Wanderlust


Director:David Wain
Starring:Jennifer Aniston, Paul Rudd, Malin Akerman, Justin Theroux
Expected Release:Feb. 24
Wain’s last film, “Role Models” was surprisingly funny and this follow-up looks promising. Paul Rudd’s movies are kind of hit-and-miss but he’s a charming guy and I’ll always give him a chance.

Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters


Director:Tommy Wirkola
Starring:Jeremy Renner, Gemma Arterton, Peter Stormare, Famke Janssen
Expected Release:March 2
I don’t know much about this one but it sounds interesting. It’s a dark comedy about Hansel and Gretel, 15 years after the “gingerbread incident” and they are now well-trained witch hunters.

Jeff Who Lives at Home


Directors:Jay Duplass, Mark Duplass
Starring:Jason Segel, Ed Helms, Judy Greer, Susan Sarandon
Expected Release:March 2
Slacker comedies are a common genre nowadays but I’ll watch Jason Segal in anything.

The Hunger Games


Director:Gary Ross
Starring:Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Elizabeth Banks
Expected Release:March 23
I’ve been anticipating this one since I first read the books. Plus it was Woody Harrelson, YAY!!

American Reunion


Directors:Jon Hurwitz, Hayden Schlossberg
Starring:Jason Biggs, Alyson Hannigan, Seann William Scott, Mena Suvari
Expected Release:April 6
I’m a little ashamed to include this on the list but the nostalgic side of me can’t help it. The entire original cast is back for this one and hopefully it puts an end to all those straight-to-DVD sequels.

The Five-Year Engagement


Director:Nicholas Stoller
Starring:Jason Segel, Emily Blunt, Chris Pratt, Alison Brie
Expected Release:April 27
Again, my love for Segel sells me on this one, but here he re-teams with “Forgetting Sarah Marshall” director and it shouldn’t disappoint.

The Avengers


Director:Joss Whedon
Starring:Robert Downey Jr., Chris Evans, Scarlett Johansson, Jeremy Renner
Expected Release:May 4
I don’t really think I need to say anything here.

Dark Shadows


Director:Tim Burton
Starring:Johnny Depp, Michelle Pfeiffer, Eva Green, Helena Bonham Carter
Expected Release:May 11
The Burton-Depp collaboration machine has gotten a little monotonous but I’m hoping this is a return to form for both. It’s a gothic horror story about a vampire and his life with witches and werewolves based on 60’s TV soap.

Men in Black III


Director:Barry Sonnenfeld
Starring:Will Smith, Tommy Lee Jones, Josh Brolin, Emma Thompson
Expected Release:May 25
I’m still not sold on the whole time-travel aspect but I’m definitely excited to see Will Smith do what he does best, kick some alien ass.

Rock of Ages


Director:Adam Shankman
Starring:Julianne Hough, Diego Boneta, Tom Cruise, Alec Baldwin
Expected Release:June 1
I don’t expect this to be a great movie but it should be fun. And the soundtrack will be pretty good.

Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter


Director:Timur Bekmambetov
Starring:Benjamin Walker, Rufus Sewell, Dominic Cooper
Expected Release:June 22
I really hope this movie is as good as it sounds and not this summer’s “Cowboys and Aliens.”

Brave


Director:Mark Andrews, Brenda Chapman
Starring:Kelly Macdonald, Billy Connolly, Emma Thompson, Julie Walters
Expected Release:June 22
Pixar movies are never “must-sees” for me but I’m never disappointed by them. I don’t expect this one to be any different.

G.I. Joe: Retaliation


Director:Jon M. Chu
Starring:Channing Tatum, Dwayne Johnson, Ray Park, Bruce Willis
Expected Release:June 29
I rolled my eyes too when I heard they were making another one of these but the trailer looks totally badass. Plus, two words: Bruce Willis.


Neighborhood Watch

Director:Akiva Schaffer
Starring:Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn, Jonah Hill, Billy Crudup
Expected Release:July 27
I’m not totally sold on this one yet, but the casting of Stiller and Vaughn as suburban dads that have to fight off an alien attack is enough for me to keep it on my radar.


The Bourne Legacy

Director:Tony Gilroy
Starring:Jeremy Renner, Rachel Weisz, Edward Norton, Joan Allen
Expected Release:Aug. 3
Matt Damon will forever be Jason Bourne but I’m willing to give Renner a chance.


Looper

Director:Rian Johnson
Starring:Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Bruce Willis, Emily Blunt, Paul Dano
Expected Release:Sept. 28
This is a sci-fi about a hitman that’s sent to the future for a job, only his mark is his future self. I’m not sure about the plot but I trust Johnson, who directed one of my all-time faves, “The Brothers Bloom,” and it has a good cast.


Gangster Squad

Director:Ruben Fleischer
Starring:Sean Penn, Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone, Giovanni Ribisi
Expected Release:Oct. 19
All I know about this is that it’s a mobster thriller set in the 1950’s, but look at the cast list.


The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn – Part 2

Director:Bill Condon
Starring:Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattinson, Taylor Lautner, Dakota Fanning
Expected Release:Nov. 16
I’m too ashamed to try and defend this one. Sorry.


Lincoln

Director:Steven Spielberg
Starring:Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Jared Harris, Daniel Day-Lewis, Tommy Lee Jones
Expected Release:December
Cast and Director is basically all I know but it sounds promising.


Django Unchained

Director:Quentin Tarantino
Starring:Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Leonardo DiCaprio, Samuel L. Jackson, Kurt Russell
Expected Release:Dec. 25
I’m just really intrigued by this one. Tarantino, love him or hate him, is never boring.


The Great Gatsby

Director:Baz Luhrmann
Starring:Leonardo DiCaprio, Carey Mulligan, Tobey Maguire
Expected Release:Dec. 25
A skilled director and exceptional cast tell Fitzgerald’s classic story about a mid-western boy pulled into the lavish lifestyle of his new New York neighbors.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Looking Forward to 2012 Movies | The Commuter - January 23, 2012

Leave a Reply

tumblr instagram pinterest pinterest

archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 232 other followers

