//
you're reading...
have you seen that one about...

Have you seen the one about … SPACE

This weekend “Prometheus” comes out. While I don’t really have any interest in seeing that one, there are lots of other movies about space out there that I love. These may not be the best quality films, they’re my favorite.

Galaxy Quest
This is my #1 favorite movie about space. Tim Allen, Sigorney Weaver, Alan Rickman, Justin Long … it doesn’t get any better than this! Allen and crew stared in a “Star Trek” type show and get beamed up to help a real alien race that based their entire culture on their TV show. Brilliant! Never give up, never surrender!

Star Wars V
It’s not a list of space movies without an appearance by at least one “Star Wars” flick. Why “Empire Strikes Back”? Because Luke, he IS your father.

Thor
This isn’t a movie about space so much as a awesome superhero movie, but it’s set in space, kinda. I love Marvel and anything that has to do with “The Avengers.” And Chris Hemsworth makes a really good god and has a mighty fine hammer.

Armageddon
I don’t know how many times I’ve seen this movie. I can’t say it gets better every time, but I never get tired of it. Ben Affleck and Bruce Willis drilling on an asteroid to save the Earth? Totally plausible.

Men in Black
It may not be set in space, but it’s about aliens and space travel so it counts.The idea that aliens are all around us and monitored by a super secret government agency is just a great idea, and it was done in a fun way. Plus, who doesn’t love Will Smith, the man can write catchy theme songs!

Serenity
I was a little late to join the Joss Whedon/ “Firefly” band wagon, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it just as much. Captain Hammer, I mean, Nathan Fillion and Alan Tudyk are fantastic in this conclusion of sorts to the short-lived “Firefly” TV series.

Zathura
It’s “Jumangi” in space, but not as good. I have a soft spot for this one cause I have a tiny crush on Dex Shepard. It also has Kristen Stewart, but she’s frozen most of the movie. I also really like the twist in the end.

Contact
I’m not quite sure why I like this movie so much, but I really do. Jodi Foster stars as a researcher who makes contact with an alien race and then gets the opportunity to travel to their planet. Once in a while I catch in on TV and I can’t not watch it.

Paul
I wasn’t a fan of “Paul” when it first came out. After “Shaun of the Dead” and “Hot Fuzz” I expected a lot from Simon Pegg and Nick Frost and was a little let down. I’ve rewatched it since and liked it much more on subsequent viewings. And it’s still the only Seth Rogen film I like.

Star Trek
I’ve never watched a full episode of the show but this movie made me want to. That says a lot. This J.J. Abrams reboot of the franchise was fantastic and had mass appeal.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

tumblr instagram pinterest pinterest

archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 232 other followers

top 10

