//
you're reading...
in theaters

Batman, Bourne, and Norman

I’ve been to a few movies recently that could all be described with the same word … disappointing.

It’s my own fault really. I see trailers, am easily impressed by casting, and get overly excited. My expectations get set to high and then … meh.

Instead of writing three separate reviews for these mediocre movies, I thought I’d simply write one combined. It’s not that they’re bad films, there’s just not enough good in them to fully recommend. They each have their moments, just few and far between.

The Dark Knight Rises
Calm down, I know lots of people who joygasmed all over this thing. I was a bit late to the party but still knew I had to go and see it. Batman isn’t my favorite superhero to begin with and the first two in this series didn’t leave me eagerly anticipating the third. The only reason to see the second one is Heath Ledger’s performance.

All directors have signatures and this is definitely a Christopher Nolan movie. It’s a dark tone, slow pacing, similar soundtrack, and the exact same cast of characters. I know what you’re thinking, it’s a trilogy, or course they’re the same. No, I mean swap Christian Bale and Anne Hathaway for Leo and Juno and this movie is “Inception” with a mask and cape.

“Dark Knight” is a well made movie, there’s no denying that, and everyone involved does a perfectly adequate job, I just didn’t like it. It was boring and I found myself just not really caring if he saved Gotham or not. And my indifference towards Christian Bale as an actor/person doesn’t help.

I waited over a month to finally see this and my reaction to it is exactly what I expected. It’s fine.

The Bourne Legacy
I loved the first Bourne movie! The two that followed were still good but didn’t recapture the energy the first one had. There was still action but lots more politics and talkity-talk when I just wanted to see him punchy-punch.

When word first came out that they were making another I was … leary. How was this going to work? No Matt Damon?! But … but … he IS Jason Bourne. Is it going to be like James Bond where different actors play the same character? Or is he going to play a new character? How many amnesiac killer spys are there? Who can you get to replace Matt Damon?

Oh, you cast Jeremy Renner. I do love me some Hawkeye, I’m in!

I bought into the new storyline and this new Aaron Cross character. The problem was that it was just way WAY too long. With a 135 minute runtime the first 90 minutes is all talkity-talk and blah-blah-blah. No! I want to see guns, and explosions, and people getting punched in the face! THAT is the true Bourne Legacy.

Again, cut out a half hour of the boring bits and leave the Renner with his shirt off scenes and you’ll have a much better film.

ParaNorman
This is the one I was most upset by. There are three movies coming out this fall with similar ideas, “ParaNorman” is the first. (Followed by “Frankenweenie” and “Hotel Transylvania.”) The more trailers I saw for this the more excited I became. Big mistake.

It’s a cute movie with a few genuinely funny moments but this story about a tween who can talk to the dead just didn’t hold my interest.

I think the main problem was the makers of the film weren’t sure who to target. Are they making a movie for kids? Their older siblings? Or their parents?

They tried to include jokes for all three which just made everything disjointed. There were one or two hilarious nuggets of gold but for the most part they think a lot like a 5-year-old, if a joke is funny once the exact same joke will be funny the 8th, 9th, 20th time … in a row.

Also, the characters themselves were incredibly unlikable. Even the hero, Norman, I would have been thrilled to see eaten by a zombie so I wouldn’t have to listen to him whine anymore.

The best part was the animation style. While I usually don’t like claymation I found this really beautiful. And the end credits were done in a vintage horror movie poster style which looked awesome.

All in all it wasn’t a bad movie … it was ok, I guess.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Batman, Bourne, and Norman

  1. Hahah I will have to disagree with you about Batman! I was gonna see the Bourne movie this weekend, but I agree with you that the first one is the best! Bourne movies are Bourne movies because of their action pack! Lol paranorman, hmm I wasn’t too
    High on seeing so I probably will ask you what happens at the end! I love your reviews btw!

    Posted by Kimby! | August 21, 2012, 8:13 pm
  2. After seeing Batman a second time, I realized how drawn out and slow-paced it was, even compared to the first two. But overall, I still enjoyed it (more the first time of course).

    Also, why did Bane sound like a mediocre Sean Connery impersonation? Seriously.

    Posted by Seandood | August 21, 2012, 11:20 pm
    • I don’t think I could sit through it a second time. It’s a good movie … I just … I don’t know … I don’t like Batman. Bane on the other had I rather enjoyed, Scottish accent and all. His voice unexpected and great and reminded me of the villains on the old Adam West TV version for some reason.

      Posted by Ashley_Christie | August 21, 2012, 11:37 pm
  3. I haven’t seen Bourne, and keep forgetting that Paranorman exists. I saw Batman and really enjoyed it, but I’ve been a long time Batman fan. While I don’t think it is as high-quality as the previous two films, especially the Dark Knight, I enjoyed it more. It allowed Batman to be a little lighter and more fun, while still having the brooding. It could have been refined a bit more, with a condensing of characters.

    Also, in regards to the Inception comparison: I believe the Dark Knight is actually a sequel to Inception. The whole movie is a dream world, where Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Tom Hardy, and maybe someone else are trying to manipulate a real-world Bruce Wayne. I think I need to make a blog post about this.

    Posted by L. Palmer | August 22, 2012, 12:26 pm
  4. Interesting opinions. The Batman one is kind of surprising but I agree about Bourne Legacy. I was just in the audience of Kevin Smith’s hulu show Spoilers! where we discussed it, and everyone agrees with you I can assure you of that. Nice blog.

    Posted by theyellowranger | August 22, 2012, 3:00 pm

Leave a Reply

tumblr instagram pinterest pinterest

archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 232 other followers

