//
you're reading...
in theaters

Always a “Good Day to Die Hard”

John McClane is my hero.

die hard john jack mcclane bruce willisHonestly, I’ll go see any movie where Bruce Willis gets to fire an automatic weapon.

I’m a big fan of the “Die Hard” franchise, most people are. “Die Hard” is the standard to which all other action films are measured. It has no equal, and that includes all of it’s sequels.

The fifth installment, “A Good Day to Die Hard,” finds our anti-hero traveling to Russia to find his estranged son Jack (Jai Courtney). And what do you know, he stumbles into a terrorist plot with lots of baddies and he has to kill some people and save the day.

Critics and fans alike have not been showing much love for this film but I really enjoyed it. Granted, I didn’t go in with very high expectations. I just wanted to see Bruce Willis blow some shit up. Mission. Accomplished.

Nothing will ever top the original but this one paid tribute to that 1988 classic much more than other’s in the series and I really appreciated that.

As a die-hard “Die Hard” fan, I was satisfied with this movie. I will defend it just as much as I defend “Die Hard 2.” It’s an action movie, and the action is really fun here. There’s car chases, shoot-outs, and a final showdown at Chernobyl.

As a fan of film, it could have been a little less of a generic action movie.

There’s no character development here. You aren’t learning anything new here and are only going to care about the main character if you’ve seen the others in the series. There’s an added father-son bonding plot that is predictable and feels forced. I mean, the man has done nothing but stop terrorists and hijackers the past 25 years, you’d think his kids would cut him some slack.

The writing and dialog are weak and I did expect a little more there. The story is overly complicated which isn’t helped by the forgettable villains. I’m still not sure who the “real” bad guy was. They kept changing their minds and killing each other. But then again, everyone is forgettable compared to Hans Gruber.

So then why, with all those negatives, would I recommend this movie?

‘Cause it’s mother-fuckin John McClane! And I got to see him blow up Chernobyl!

“A Good Day to Die Hard” is a decent addition to the series. I’ll go see the sixth and however many more they want to put out. John McClane is my hero, and Bruce Willis looks damn good firing a gun.

Yippee-ki-yay, moviegoers!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Always a “Good Day to Die Hard”

  1. Thanks for the mention 😀

    Posted by Tim The Film Guy | February 17, 2013, 9:57 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: LinkDump: | Marci Sischo - February 19, 2013

Leave a Reply

tumblr instagram pinterest pinterest

archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

