//
you're reading...
in theaters

Christina … Cher … Burlesque

It’s a passion. It’s an emotion. It’s a fashion. It’s Burlesque.

I love it when a movie surprises me and is better than I thought it was going to be. I walked into “Burlesque” expecting a poor excuse to showcase Christina Aguilera‘s acting talents.

Her acting may still be in question but the movie is a lot of fun and I had a good time.

Aguilera stars as Ali, an Iowa farm girl who moves to LA in the hopes of being a star. She stumbles into a Burlesque club owned by Tess (Cher) and is mesmerized by the bright lights and tight corsets. Ali bides her time hanging with the bartender (Cam Gigandet) and working as a waitress at the club until she can get on stage and prove herself.

I know it all sounds really familiar and tired but I think the casting really helps. First of all, unlike other Micky Mouse Club alums Aguilera can really sing, I mean REALLY sing. Her acting is so-so. The entire time I felt like I was watching the story of Aguilera, not Ali, but in the end that didn’t really matter. As for Cher, who has proven that she can act, I was always very aware that I was watching Cher. Gigandet is good as Aguilera’s love interest. Stanley Tucci helps Tess run the club, and is perfect, as always. Peter Gallagher pops up as Tess’ ex-husband. And Eric Dane, Alan Cumming, and Kristin Bell are equally fine.

The movie isn’t perfect by any stretch of the imagination. The story is unoriginal and the acting is mediocre. But the songs are good and the two leads can really belt them out. Cher still has the vocal chords (and body) of a 25-year-old.

It will make you laugh and tap your toes. You’ll have an all-around good time.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Christina … Cher … Burlesque

  1. I, for one, have always preferred Cher over that whore, Madonna.

    Posted by Richard William Harin Jr. | April 26, 2011, 9:13 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The Commuter: Vol. 42 « Art in the Rye Design - June 19, 2011

  2. Pingback: » Movie Review – Burlesque Fernby Films - July 5, 2014

Leave a comment

tumblr instagram pinterest pinterest

archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 232 other subscribers

top 10

Katniss, You Ignorant Slut
Australian Dreamgirls: "The Sapphires"